Board Members

Energex Limited Board of Directors

Gordon Jardine - Chairman

Gordon JardineB.E (Hons), B.Com, M.Sc (Environmental), FAICD, FAIM, FIEAust, FTSE

Gordon Jardine was appointed to the Energex Board in May 2015 and was appointed Chairman of the Board, effective 1 October 2015.  He is Chairman of the Network and Technical Committee and a member of the People Committee and the Regulatory Committee.

He is also the independent Chairman of ElectraNet Pty Limited, the private company which owns and operates the high voltage electricity transmission grid in South Australia, a position held since 2011.  He has been an ElectraNet director almost continuously since 2000.

From 1995 to 2011, he was CEO of Powerlink Queensland, which owns and operates the high voltage electricity transmission grid in Queensland. During this period, he was seconded to Energex as CEO for 9 months in 2004/05.

Gordon spent his early career in the computer software industry, where he held a number of national and international roles, and in the mining industry in Queensland and WA.

John Geldard - Director

John Geldard, DirectorB.Com, BE, CPA, FAICD

John Geldard was first appointed a non-executive Director of the Energex Limited Board in July 2005.  He is Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee and Chairman of the Regulatory Committee.

John has extensive experience within the private and public sectors in the manufacturing, mining and energy industries and has been involved with electricity industry reform in Queensland and Western Australia.

Previously, John has held executive positions at Energex, including Chief Executive Officer between March and December 2000, and Chief Financial Officer from July 1997 to April 2001. Prior to this, John served as the Chief Financial Officer for the Queensland Transmission and Supply Corporation.

John is a Director of Energy Super (formerly ESI Super), and is a previous Deputy Member of the Queensland Treasury Corporation Board.

Kerryn Newton - Director

Kerryn newton, DirectorLLM, MBA, MA, Grad Dip (Applied Finance and Investment), FAICD, FAIM, FGIA

Kerryn Newton first joined the Energex Limited Board in October 2008 and since that time has been a member of, and chaired, several of the Board Committees and has served as Chair of the Board.  She is currently Chair of the People Committee, a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and a member of the Network and Technical Committee.

Kerryn was admitted as a solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland in 1991 and has over 25 years experience working in various legal, management and commercial roles in the private and public sectors, and as a consultant working across the private, government, publicly-listed, and not-for-profit sectors in an extensive range of industries.

Kerryn has also been a member, and Chair, of a wide range of boards and committees, and was a member of the former Queensland Liquor and Gaming Commission. Currently, Kerryn is Managing Director of a national governance consulting firm and advises a wide range of organisations in the areas of governance, strategy and management.

Robert (Bob) Shead - Director

Robert Shead profile pictureFCPA

Bob Shead was appointed as a non-executive Director of the Energex Limited Board on 1 October 2015. He is a member of the Network and Technical Committee and the Audit and Risk Committee.

Bob is a consultant specialising in public financial management and governance.  He has 40 years’ experience in the public and private sectors in Australia and across the Asia-Pacific region. Bob is currently an Executive Director (and retired partner) at BDO (Qld), an Asian Development Bank advisor to the People’s Republic of China, and a director of Australia’s CEO Challenge.

Previously, he has been a World Bank and United Nations Development Program advisor, and chair of Forestry Plantations Queensland.  Prior to 2000, Bob had a number of roles in the Queensland public sector, including at Queensland Treasury and the Queensland Audit Office.

Vanessa Sullivan – Director

Vanessa Sullivan profile pictureBEc (Hons), Grad. Dip. Finance and Investment (SIA)

Vanessa Sullivan was appointed as a non-executive Director of the Energex Limited Board on 1 October 2015.  She is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee, the People Committee and the Regulatory Committee.

Vanessa is a qualified economist with significant knowledge of the energy, carbon and water sectors and has been a senior member of water and energy reform teams.

Vanessa is currently a Partner at Lyon Infrastructure and her previous roles include Executive Director, Ernst & Young, where she was responsible for undertaking energy market analysis for both network and generation businesses, and financial and strategic assessment of climate change. Vanessa has valuable experience in the development of utility solar and energy storage projects, including the development of the Cook Shire Solar/Storage Project in Far North Queensland.

Company Secretaries

Michael Russell - Director Corporate Governance and Company Secretary

Michael Russell, Director Corporate Governance and Company SecretaryBE, MBA, Grad Dip AppCorpGov, GAICD, ACIS, MIEAust, CPEng

Michael Russell has been a company secretary for the Energex Group Companies since early 2004.

Initially he held the position of Corporate Affairs Manager (Assistant Company Secretary) and from October 2004, Acting Group Company Secretary.

In October 2007 he was appointed as General Manager Corporate Governance and in 2010 became Director, Corporate Governance.

Michael joined the organisation when it was operating as SEQEB in 1984, and has held various engineering and management positions.

In the last 10 years, his expertise in corporate governance has been developed through responsibilities that included the management of significant Energex investments in a listed telecommunications company and in Ceramic Fuel Cells Limited.

Marnie White - Corporate Governance Manager Marnie White, Corporate Governance Manager and Company Secretaryand Company Secretary

LLB, BA, Grad Dip LP, Grad Dip App Corp Gov, GAICD

Marnie White was admitted as a solicitor in July 2000 and practiced in a national law firm before joining Energex as Legal Counsel Network in 2005.

She was appointed as Secretariat and Governance Manager (Company Secretary) in December 2007 and became Corporate Governance Manager in 2011.

In 2009, she completed the Graduate Diploma in Applied Corporate Governance through Chartered Secretaries Australia.

Our Company Secretaries can be contacted by:

Telephone: 13 12 53

Fax: (07) 3664 9808


Energex Limited
GPO Box 1461
Brisbane  QLD  4001

You require Adobe Acrobat Reader to view or print documents.

Back to top